Worthy


The battle I fight is never about whether I believe or not, never about questioning any part of the gospel.  But rather the too often pattern of neglecting the simple overlooked truths.  These foundational principles on which the religion is built upon.  I realize that we are imperfect, and herein lies the problem. My concern is the lack of awareness to the severity of this common problem we spread to one another.

This isn’t the common voice you hear saying love everyone don’t judge in the context of -“accept that there is no real truth, just opinion”.  I completely believe in truth and right.  But I also learned from my Savior a love that is unconditional.

What is worse?  Struggling with addiction, or treating others poorly?  Not attending all church meetings, or pointing out that someone isn’t attending church meetings?  I could go on and on.

I’m not sure why we always feel the need to take another’s inventory.  What does that accomplish?  I’m so tired of hearing the same heartbreaking stories of those already dealing with trials and struggles, then having peers shame them.  Do you even think about what you are doing? Why is it your responsibility to shame anyone?  How can love and shame co-exist?  What positive result will come out of that negativity?

The God that I have come to know, surely would be proud of me for doing my best in this life.  If when I fall I turn to Christ, if I learn to develop unconditional and Christlike love, and extend that to my brothers and sisters. If I serve those around me.  Surely, I would return to my Heavnely Father.

I feel so blessed to have the knowledge and understanding that I do.  Even with knowing all of this, I still can feel the weight words, and false concern, and burden of knowing the ones closest to me cannot love me unconditionally unless I live exactly as they wish I do.  What about those on shaky ground?  Please lift them up with weightless love.  This life is too hard on its own; we need not act like we are judges of whom is worthy and accepted.  Everyone is worthy of love and belonging no matter what is done or undone.

One comment

Leave a Reply

